PDA

View Full Version : OT: best nasal spray?

Serpico
07-16-2006, 09:34 AM
Okay, I started a thread awhile back about slowly developing seasonal allergies (St. Louis is bad for this).

Thanks for all the replies on the original thread.

I am now using Walgreens' house brand Wal-Itin (Claritin clone), but my nose is extremely stuffed up. I just bought a Walgreens-branded Anefrin spray labeled as "moisturizing"/"pump mist"/"no drip"--which did barely anything for me, and dripped into my throat.

What should I try now? Can I use Zicam with Claritin? Is Zicam too "heavy duty", should I try something lighter? Would the Zicam replace the Claritin?

Any comments are appreciated--I am new to this and a bit overwhelmed by the sheer amount of products available, but the Anefrin spray doesn't seem to be working.

My nose is just STUFFY, not runny or itchy.

Thanks,

-Jason

saab2000
07-16-2006, 09:41 AM
The last two times I got a cold I used Afrin. Both times my cold developed into a nasty sinus infection. I don't know about allergy ones, but I have heard that they can have as much a negative impact as positive.

93legendti
07-16-2006, 09:48 AM
Mucinex and Sinus Rinse. You'll breath better. Guaranteed.

CarbonCycles
07-16-2006, 10:36 AM
Sinus rinse for certain and nasonex works for me but its by prescription

manet
07-16-2006, 11:12 AM
serpico _ soak a couple of hand towels, dish cloths, whatever.
ring them out hard, and put them in the microwave for about
2.5 minutes at high. get prone, and place the HOT towels over
your forehead and nose. relax and enjoy. repeat just like with
shampoo. it's best when you can have a lovely nurse assist.
this works wonders on my headaches _ i know you said nil about
a headache, but really stuffed up nasal passages are close...

rwsaunders
07-16-2006, 12:44 PM
Alavert? Alevert? works better for me than Claritan. I've had lifelong grass pollen allergies as well as a bee sting allergy.

Maybe cycling not my sport? Right.

Ray