PDA

View Full Version : Help!!

shrubby32
07-12-2006, 03:20 PM
I'm really new to cycling. I got my first bike since I was 13 and it is a Trek 7.2 FX. I thought that I would start with a hybrid and work my way up to a road bike. My question is that I am riding about 20 miles a day but I really don't feel that I am pushing myself yet. I know that I should work my way up but what gear should my bike be in to get a good workout and to challenge myself.

Thanks for your help!!!! :bike:

goonster
07-12-2006, 03:27 PM
I know that I should work my way up but what gear should my bike be in to get a good workout and to challenge myself.

The only thing that you should do is have fun.

It all depends on what you want out of it. Don't overthink it. Unless you have specific goals (ironman, century, double centure or whatever) I suggest you ride lots whenever you want to and don't think of the bike as a piece of exercise equipment, or you'll burn out and start hating it in short order. You'll know you've challenged yourself when the legs burn, and you'll know you had a good workout when you have irresistable urges to eat a horse.

And so I'll leave you with these tired old (but not untrue) aphorisms:

"Getting in shape is something that happens while you're having fun."

"Ride lots in places of interest." (attributed to Jobst Brandt, afaik)

SoCalSteve
07-12-2006, 03:36 PM
I'm really new to cycling. I got my first bike since I was 13 and it is a Trek 7.2 FX. I thought that I would start with a hybrid and work my way up to a road bike. My question is that I am riding about 20 miles a day but I really don't feel that I am pushing myself yet. I know that I should work my way up but what gear should my bike be in to get a good workout and to challenge myself.
Thanks for your help!!!! :bike:

Maybe the question should be not about gearing but about yourself. What I mean by this is that if you use a heart rate monitor, you can tell how hard your own "motor" is running.