PDA

View Full Version : Too old to rock and roll?

91Bear
08-13-2016, 10:09 PM
When I was a college student in early 90's, my roommates and I would ride a 14.6 mile loop as a time trial. The goal was to break 40 minutes. I never could. The best I could do was 42:16, or just under 21 mph.

(I'm built for endurance but never all that fast.)

I'm 48 now and I still regret never breaking that mark. Is it too late?

I weigh about the same as I did then but don't get to train that much (job, kids, etc.) I still wonder if I could do it.

Any ideas? Could I work up a routine on a trainer to get myself able to do it?

FlashUNC
08-13-2016, 10:20 PM
If Ray "The Boot" Booty can do a 100 mile TT in under 4 hours, anything is possible.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ray_Booty

Louis
08-13-2016, 10:22 PM
Is it all flat, or is there any significant climbing?

Of course you want to improve yourself overall, but knowing how much aero changes will buy you (mostly flat course) vs improving your climbing, will also help guide your approach to the problem.

91Bear
08-13-2016, 10:50 PM
Flat. 34 feet of climbing. :)

http://www.mapmyride.com/us/waco-tx/downsville-loop-route-90666

adub
08-13-2016, 10:53 PM
Only one way to find out :)

Louis
08-13-2016, 10:57 PM
Well, if it's flat then the easiest way to go faster is to reduce drag.

The harder way is to train better.

91Bear
08-13-2016, 11:06 PM
Yeah, I thought about full skinsuit, disc wheel, etc.

But, I should probably take the Eddy Merckx route and use the technology available then. Basically just aerobars.

Ti Designs
08-13-2016, 11:08 PM

Any chance you'll be traveling to the Boston area???

The short answer is yes, I have lots of ideas (and opinions), and it all starts on the trainer.

The medium length answer is yes, but I find that coaching over the internet sucks 'cause I'm not there to correct when things aren't going right. Practice only makes perfect if you do it right...