PDA

View Full Version : wearing out a lot of sidewalls these days on bigger tires

bicycletricycle
07-30-2016, 04:40 PM
for years I rode mostly 700x28 tires, with something like 75-90 psi. toping them up when they get down to 50-60psi.

In the last 2 or 3 years I have been mainly riding 700x35 tires on my main commuter bicycle, usually at around 60-65psi. I am not really good at keeping up with tire pressure and usually only top them up when they get in danger of pinch flatting (35-40psi).

For the first year or so I ran panaracer T serv 700x35 tires, I have now switched to Schwalbe Marathon supremes 700x35 tires.

I have worn through the sidewall on 3 panaracers and 1 schwalbe, all 4 have been on the rear.

I have never persistently worn out sidewalls before the tread on tires. These failures don't seem to be from debris cuts but just from becoming threadbare. When they finally go I can see lots of other places on the sidewall that are close to wearing through as well. I have run 700x28 T servs for a decade or so, almost always ran them down to the cord without sidewall failure.

Has anyone else had problems with wearing sidewalls out before the tread?

I guess it is from running them low a lot, all that extra flexing in those bigger sidewalls?

What do you guys think?

Ken Robb
07-30-2016, 06:27 PM
What are the sidewalls rubbing on?

bicycletricycle
07-30-2016, 06:34 PM
themselves I guess

AngryScientist
07-30-2016, 07:02 PM
very interesting.

for sure, it is common knowledge that if you ride your car around on well underinflated tires, they will fail with a sidewall blowout; so it does make sense that the same could happen with bike tires, which have obviously much thinner sidewalls.

i would try and be more diligent about keeping the psi pumped up and see if that reduces the instances of worn out sidewalls.

donevwil
07-30-2016, 07:39 PM
Narrow rims, bulging wide tires making canti pads rub ?