PDA

View Full Version : Viscosupplementation

Rpoole8537
07-19-2016, 09:58 AM
I have had knee problems for 40 years. I played basketball and tennis in my teens and twenties and always had to manage the pain a bit. In my late twenties I started to run and four years later started having severe pain. So much that I started riding a bike and that was 27 years ago. Knee pain was so bad 12 years ago that I had microfracture on the right knee. Although the recovery was longer than anticipated, the pain did subside after a while. The doctor did say that the next procedure would be a cartilage graft. Fast forward 12 years and I am once again experiencing so much pain that I have curtailed my riding and especially difficult rides in the hills and mountains where I live. I local medical group is offering viscosupplementation and PT which they say when paired together they have an 85% success rate. It sounds too good to be true, and most likely is a stretch. It will not be a long term fix, but it might be sufficient to ride pain free throughout the late summer and fall. Anyone have experience with this procedure? Any other suggestions/advise?

scooter
07-19-2016, 10:46 AM
From a clinical study in the Annals of Internal Medicine 2012: "Conclusion: In patients with knee osteoarthritis, viscosupplementation is associated with a small and clinically irrelevant benefit and an increased risk for serious adverse events.

http://annals.org/article.aspx?articleid=1305531

thwart
07-19-2016, 11:25 AM
Most medical studies do not show any dramatic benefit, frequently no benefit at all.

In your situation, the '85%' could be mostly from physical therapy. Although again, most medical studies looking at PT alone for osteoarthritis of the knee show it's not significantly helpful.