PDA

View Full Version : Broke a tooth eating pizza, can I ask the pizza place for damages?

MattTuck
07-17-2016, 10:00 PM
Broke a tooth earlier tonight, going to dentist tomorrow. Will probably be a hefty bill.

Should I ask the pizzeria to cover some/all of the cost? I broke it on a hard piece of semolina on the bottom of the pizza, I believe. If I do ask, any ideas on how I should approach it and how likely I would be to get any help?

stephenmarklay
07-17-2016, 10:01 PM
Strange. That might be a hard thing to prove.

efaust_o
07-17-2016, 10:10 PM
witnesses w/ you? previous dental issues w/ you in past? Notified management at pizza place time of incident? If they are feeling way generous, otherwise....not...I work in the food industry fielding consumer complaints...so many false claims. Really depends on owners and how threatened they feel...

EPOJoe
07-17-2016, 10:47 PM
Legally, I believe they're only liable if you broke your tooth on something that normally shouldn't have been in the pizza, like a button or a piece of metal. Semolina passes the "foreign-natural test" which means it's something that reasonably should have been in/on the pizza, so I don't think you have a case. Of course I'm just remembering this from a law class I took twenty years ago, so if there are any real attorneys who'd like to chime in...

Llewellyn
07-17-2016, 10:57 PM
Only in America :crap:

John H.
07-17-2016, 11:06 PM
It sucks but eating is not without risk.
I have broken teeth while eating on two different occasions.
I never thought to sue the source.
Once I was eating dates. The kind that are chopped up and rolled in oat flour- bit down on a piece of a pit.
The other time was chomping down on an Atomic Fireball (jawbreaker type candy)- it was in fact a jaw breaker!

Dead Man
07-17-2016, 11:11 PM