PDA

View Full Version : "Falling" on the pedals

bikemoore
07-17-2016, 09:56 AM
To whoever recently posted responses, with links to videos, in another thread about "falling on the pedals": thank you. I've been cycling seriously for 27 years and thought that I knew what I was doing. But the posts about "falling on the pedals" intrigued me enough to try an admittedly not-very-scientific experiment on my rides over the past two weeks to see if a) I could figure out what is "falling on the pedals" and b) if I could figure it out, what do I think of it? My preliminary conclusion after 4 very hilly rides: old dogs can and should learn new tricks.....I like "falling on the pedals"......a lot. I now believe that I have actually been failing to effectively "fire" on the down stroke in my quest for a smooth stroke thus greatly limiting my effective power.

Ever since I started cycling enough to read about pedaling techniques, I've been pursuing a smooth stroke believing that a) smooth = efficient = strong and b) the way to that smooth stroke is to concentrate the parts of my stroke other than the down stroke because we are naturally wired to fire on the down stroke and therefore don't need to intentionally fire. Therefore, I concentrated on "scraping mud" through the bottom and lifting my leg weight through the up stroke to put my leg in position to naturally fire on the down stroke.

Sounds reasonable enough, but I've been struggling enough on climbs to be open to the right new idea (or at least new to me). The results of 5 hilly rides has me quite excited. I think I quickly found out what is the technique and the rhythm of it, especially at the slower cadence of climbing or when looking to "catch up" to a longer gear.