PDA

View Full Version : 1x11 Ti Hardtail: How Would You Set It Up?

ColonelJLloyd
07-05-2016, 03:39 PM
I know I should probably ask on a MTB specific forum, but I know there are a lot of MTB guys here. So. . . I'm a total MTB noob. But, I've been curious long enough and I've ordered a frame and some components. I plan on exploring some local trails, but I'll also use this bike to pull my daughter's trailer on pavement, maybe also her trail-a-bike and do some bikepacking with it.

Large Lynskey Ridgeline 29SL
1x11 32t gearing
XT drivetrain
SRAM 900/Pacenti TL28 wheelset

Fork: I think I'd like to start out fully rigid. I was considering a Whisky No. 9 or Niner RDO fully carbon fork. Alternatively, my LBS has Whisky No. 7s on sale as no one wants QR on the front anymore. My hubs are easily convertible. Should I just rock the No. 7 for a while or will I really appreciate the 15mm thru axle?

Seatpost: Just go with a Thomson (sure seems popular on MTBs) or look for carbon or titanium to take the edge off?

Saddle: This is personal, I realize. On road bikes, I ride Brooks Pros, Rivet Independence and I have a little experience on a Fizik Alliante. Stick with what works on the road bike or is there MTB-specific fit issues that require giving this more thought?

Stem/Bar: No idea really. I was thinking basically a flat bar maybe with just a bit of sweep (5deg). For bikepacking later on I'd like to add aero bars. Just go with an aluminum bar? Any compelling reason for carbon or titanium bars aside from weight? Same question for the stem.

Tires: What's a favorite "general" or "all purpose" type tire in the 2.35-2.5" range?

Thanks!

icepick_trotsky
07-05-2016, 04:16 PM
If it were me, I'd probably stick with aluminum stem and bars for the time being. Since you're new to this, dial in your fit and preferences before you splurge on carbon.

cp43
07-05-2016, 04:31 PM