PDA

View Full Version : Cheap, basic bike camera recommnedation

kgreene10
07-05-2016, 03:17 PM
I apologize if this has been covered before.

I would like an inexpensive, basic camera for video recording that I can attach to the back of my Madone 9 and use during training.

The goal is to provide for my son's future once a redneck in a truck decides to reenact Easy Rider. I don't foresee wanting to record my races and overlay power numbers etc. That might be fun, but my main goal is to keep it cheap and simple for documentary purposes.

What would you recommend?

druptight
07-05-2016, 03:38 PM
https://cycliq.com/

These guys make front and rear facing camera/light combos to help keep you seen and let you see in the event of an accident. Note - I have NO experience with them, but I remember the hoopla when they did a kickstarter or whatever. I think a search on here will yield reviews.

casparwhittey
07-05-2016, 03:48 PM
DCR did a writeup on them:

Front:http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2016/05/cycliq-fly12-bike-lightcamera-in-depth-review.html
Rear: http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/10/cycliq-fly6-review.html

weisan
07-05-2016, 03:51 PM
Green pal, define "cheap"?

Garmin discontinued their Virb camera series. You can still find them on eBay, their Elite model selling for $150, and incorporated biometric information. If you don't care for them, you can go for their Basic model w/o biometric that sells for less than $100. I use a small Anker battery stick to extend battery life from 2:30 to 5 hrs which covers most, if not all, of my rides.

tiretrax
07-05-2016, 05:51 PM
I bought a Sony action cam last Black Friday at Best Buy. I haven't used it, despite having the same intentions. I also took it to Colorado for Ride the Rockies and kept forgetting to bring it with me each day. If you want a deal, PM me. I'll drive down to A-town if you buy me lunch at Terry Blacks.:)

cmbicycles
07-05-2016, 09:49 PM