PDA

View Full Version : Advice for road bike wheels

dreamzkidz
06-21-2016, 06:48 AM
Hi all,

I am new to this forum and have a question regarding which bicycle wheelset to buy. I am torn between 4 wheelset and wonder which is a better bargain?

Currently I saw a local advertisment selling a used hed alps at the same price with Fulcrum lg quattro. Which would be a better buy, am tempted by the carbon wheelset though it is around 10 years old.

Other than that should I top up a bit more to get Mavic Cosmic Elite Wheelset or save a few bucks and get fulcrum 5?

Is there really much different with either wheelset?

Joxster
06-21-2016, 07:05 AM
What are you wanting the wheels for? and how chunky are you? Personally I would stay clear of 10yr old carbons unless I knew the rider selling them

dreamzkidz
06-21-2016, 07:48 AM
I have been riding my bike for like 2 years now and want to upgrade some of the parts starting with the wheels. Currently I am using CAAD8 and was thinking with the upgrade, it could improve my performance and rides more. Have look at Hed Alps and it seems good with no cracks etc. However I am lacking the knowledge to really decide on is it worth the risks being an old wheel or should I get other wheels for my ride.

shovelhd
06-21-2016, 07:53 AM
So you are a recreational rider with an older bike who is looking for a wheel upgrade. You are the perfect client for a custom wheel builder like Old Potatoe or Ergott. They can give you a myriad of hand built options to fit your budget, weight, and use patterns, taking both your current and future bikes into account.

weisan
06-21-2016, 07:57 AM
So you are a recreational rider with an older bike who is looking for a wheel upgrade. You are the perfect client for a custom wheel builder like Old Potatoe or Ergott. They can give you a myriad of hand built options to fit your budget, weight, and use patterns, taking both your current and future bikes into account.