PDA

View Full Version : Antares, Arione, or Alliante

Birddog
06-13-2016, 08:49 PM
I'm trying to decide on a new saddle. I've been riding an Alliante for about 5 years and it is fine but I'm wondering if one of either the Arione or the Antares might be an improvement. My arse seems to adapt to pretty much any saddle, I've had or have a Brooks B17. A Brooks Pro, the Alliante and an older Regal. I'm probably a chameleon in the Fizik world, I can touch my toes but it is a slow and difficult process at my age and with my gut. Thoughts?

Gummee
06-13-2016, 08:54 PM
I can't ride the 'scoop-style' saddle. I've tried Antares-es and have a few Ariones now.

Ya gotta try em.

The new Arione shape is different than the old Arione shape.

M

unterhausen
06-13-2016, 10:13 PM
I have been riding an Aliante for quite some time now. I got an Airone as an experiment, I was having some problems with my man-parts and wondered if a flatter saddle would help. The problem I had with the Airone is that I have interference with my inner thighs. Probably because I push too far back on the saddle, but it does seem wider. I really like them though. I went back to all Aliante, and I'm happy with that decision. The Airone looks like an ass hatchet, but I found it really comfortable. YMMV. I think there are a lot more used Airones out there than Aliantes, if that tells you anything.

The man-parts problem seems to be with certain shorts and their "modesty panel" on the front, and saddles don't seem to have anything to do with it. I particularly have problems with Voler shorts. They work great for 60-ish miles, and then they start cutting and slashing.

ahumblecycler
06-14-2016, 04:03 AM
I started riding the classic Arione in 2003 and switched to the CX version in 2009, which has been on all my until the last year. I cannot say what changed, but I decided to try the new Antares R3, and I have not looked back. I now have one for each of my bikes.