PDA

View Full Version : Retrofit madness, disc edition

greengage
06-02-2016, 08:39 PM
So, I have this nagging thought in my head that my cx/crud bike should be disc brake equipped. I don't have a ton of experience on discs, but I sure do like being able to stop. I have lots of experience not stopping on wet canti's. My current cx bike is canti only.
Due to health, I'm going to be out this cross season. I was planning on just selling the cross rig, but I had a crazy idea: get the steel cx bike converted to discs. This would involve removing canti studs and cable stops, adding disc bracket and new cable stops. Might involve reinforcing the seat stays/chain stays. And a repaint or some creative blending. (Did I miss something?)
So, is this insanity? Frame in question is a Wraith with little market value, but decent personal attachment. I can't really afford it, but I can't afford to lose my shirt moving the frame out the door. Has anyone done this? Who did you have do the work? Were you happy? Who do you recommend? Or am I about to get my sense digitally slapped into me.
All replies welcome, even the open handed ones to the face.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160603/8f388a58bf04e43826a8c474b2eb8573.jpg

thirdgenbird
06-02-2016, 09:00 PM
Put a disc fork, disc front wheel, and front hyrd. Leave the frame alone.

bicycletricycle
06-02-2016, 10:01 PM
Try mini v brakes first, they are better than what you got.

Disc refit and new fork will cost more than moving that frame and buying a used disc frameset.

Louis
06-02-2016, 10:07 PM
^^^^ agreed.

Improve what you have now (which shouldn't be too expensive to do, sticking with rim brakes).

If you have to have disc, then use an appropriate frame and fork from the start.

cachagua
06-03-2016, 01:26 AM
Soma Wolverine? Disc-ready, belt-drive compatible, about the price of the very desirable Black Mountain Cycles 'crosser...