PDA

View Full Version : OT: iPod's S*ck

ti_boi
06-26-2006, 11:51 AM
Got one for free and loaded up with music....changed PCs recently....music 'appeared' on the new PC and then for some reason disapeared....I sincerely think that Apple is 2nd rate with their support. They package the turds they sell in pretty boxes.....

bostondrunk
06-26-2006, 12:09 PM
Is the music still on your ipod?
How did you move the music to your new computer? Ipod's aren't meant to share their music with multiple computers and ipods, although I believe there are ways around this.
I have the ipod mini and it works great.

BoulderGeek
06-26-2006, 12:19 PM
I concur with BostonDrunk.

I've had three iPods of varying generations. I think that they are magnificent achievements of form and function. But, as a disclaimer, I've been drinking the Steve Kool Aid since 1985, and am a huge devotee of NeXT and OS X.

If you do a google search for "ipod music extract" you should be able to find all of the resources that you need.

The iPod is not to blame for a lack of networking or operating system savvy. The PC is pretty much crap (I assert, as a 20-year systems support person with certifications in several operating systems and networking methodologies). Any particular level of usefelness is incumbent on a sufficiently knowledgable user to make that happen.

I share music between 5 machines with four different operating systems, and several iPods. But, I have a ubiquitous network and properly shared network resources. It can be done, and without too much strain and misery.

Of course, for a more seamless ease of use, ditch Windows and use OS X. Once you unlearn all of the poorly implemented Microsoft kruft, your digital life may be far more enjoyable. Given the choice, you wouldn't ride a Huffy instead of an Ottrott, would you? :D

It appears to me that your issue is not with the iPod, per se, but with your operating system, data transfer experience, and iTunes on Windows.