PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed...

OldDog
06-26-2006, 07:36 AM
I am loaning out long term a Spectrum ti I have to a buddy just starting out riding. He is very close to my size, height and weight wise, but has femurs the length of a gazelle.

With the post now on the bike (older american classic) I cannot get the seat (currently a regal) back far enough back to get a KOP (as a starting point). He is about 3 cm too far forward.

I posted a WTB to the classifieds this morning for a set back post, hoping I can get him back.

Question: He is a newbie with zero bike skills. Will I be creating a handling problem with a set back post? I have yet to address the stem length however eyeing him up as he now sits, he's a bit cramped. With the setback post, he may not need a longer stem (11 now on the bike, 53 st and 54.5 tt).

I am no fit expert and need to question the fore / aft weight distribution as it relates to handeling before I send him on his way.

Any comments appreciated. Thanks.

OD

djg
06-26-2006, 08:37 AM
I am loaning out long term a Spectrum ti I have to a buddy just starting out riding. He is very close to my size, height and weight wise, but has femurs the length of a gazelle.

With the post now on the bike (older american classic) I cannot get the seat (currently a regal) back far enough back to get a KOP (as a starting point). He is about 3 cm too far forward.

I posted a WTB to the classifieds this morning for a set back post, hoping I can get him back.

Question: He is a newbie with zero bike skills. Will I be creating a handling problem with a set back post? I have yet to address the stem length however eyeing him up as he now sits, he's a bit cramped. With the setback post, he may not need a longer stem (11 now on the bike, 53 st and 54.5 tt).

I am no fit expert and need to question the fore / aft weight distribution as it relates to handeling before I send him on his way.

Any comments appreciated. Thanks.

OD