PDA

View Full Version : MOAB - bike rentals

AngryScientist
05-13-2016, 11:00 AM
Alright team. The old threads are old. I've got a single day free in Utah next week. I feel like seeing MOAB is the right thing to do. I'm an absolute novice mountain biker. Rent a road bike, MTB, or go hiking?

sjbraun
05-13-2016, 11:03 AM
Moab is not novice mountain bike territory. Really nice road riding along the river and the ride into Arches National Park are fantastic.

DRietz
05-13-2016, 11:05 AM
Moab is not novice mountain bike territory. Really nice road riding along the river and the ride into Arches National Park are fantastic.

Agreed. If you rent a mountain bike, prepare to go on that hike that you mentioned. The stuff out there is so technical that if you're without somebody experienced to help you through sections, you'll end up walking a lot of them.

12snap
05-13-2016, 11:11 AM
The stuff out there is so technical that if you're without somebody experienced to help you through sections, you'll end up walking a lot of them.

This is not necessarily true. The Moab Brand trails and Klondike Bluffs areas, for example, have trails that most would not consider technical.

gdw
05-13-2016, 11:22 AM
+1 There are some pretty easy trails in the area for beginners...Klondick Bluff, Monitor and Merrimac, Hurrah Pass, Gemini Bridges, etc. Check out some of the guide books and ask the folks at the bike shop where you rent for advice.

echelon_john
05-13-2016, 11:24 AM
If you're a competent East Coast mountain biker, there are plenty of opportunities to have fun in Moab. Don't be intimidated.

Chile Pepper is a great source for rental bikes; pretty high end stuff available. They are also a pickup point for the shuttle if you want to do the Whole Enchilada, which I recommend highly. It's a "downhill" run of ~28 miles, but you'll still do plenty of work, and the sights are amazing. You get shuttled to the top from town, then ride down.