PDA

View Full Version : Threadless headset question

Ray
06-23-2006, 05:47 PM
I'm relatively new to threadless headsets - just within the last year and a few months. I have two of 'em now and both of them seem to be clicking. I'm not absolutely certain that the headset is the cause, but I've pretty well eliminated all of the other possibilities I can think of.

Can overtightening cause this? In adjusting these pups (they're both Kings, btw), I tighten just until there's no play when I grab the front brake and push the bike up and back against the front wheel. Then I tighten up the stem bolts and figure I'm good. A couple of times, I've found that its loosened up a bit using this method, so I'll tighten a bit more, but still well short of feeling any stiffness in the movement of the head tube. I frankly don't know whether I'm over-tightening or under-tightening or getting it right. The bikes ride fine - I don't feel any play or tightness in the front end. But there's a click that's independant of pedalling and independant of sitting or standing. So I don't believe it's in the drive train or seatpost/saddle area. I can't replicate it off the bike (grab the brake and push fore and aft against a restricted front wheel and nothing, nada, zilch) but it's pretty close to constant when I'm riding.

Any ideas?

-Ray

eddief
06-23-2006, 05:54 PM
On my Steve Rex I had a noise which was the cable housing ferrule moving inside the headtube mounted cable guides. This only happened occasionally and of course only when turning side to side in either direction. I think I gave it a squirt of one lube or another and have not heard it since.

Ray
06-23-2006, 05:56 PM
On my Steve Rex I had a noise which was the cable housing ferrule moving inside the headtube mounted cable guides. This only happened occasionally and of course only when turning side to side in either direction. I think I gave it a squirt of one lube or another and have not heard it since.