PDA

View Full Version : So I bought a blinky light

johnniecakes
05-10-2016, 11:10 AM
My wife was driving us on Friday afternoon and we approached a cyclist from behind. She made the comment "I could really see his light from far away". The light wasn't anything extra special, just a small red light blinking. So it got me thinking that if she made the comment it may be a good idea to get one. I have been riding since 1973 and never had a collision from behind but if something is available that could keep my record (and teeth) intact I should do it. So 50 grams later I now have a little flashing light. :banana:

Black Dog
05-10-2016, 11:17 AM
My wife was driving us on Friday afternoon and we approached a cyclist from behind. She made the comment "I could really see his light from far away". The light wasn't anything extra special, just a small red light blinking. So it got me thinking that if she made the comment it may be a good idea to get one. I have been riding since 1973 and never had a collision from behind but if something is available that could keep my record (and teeth) intact I should do it. So 50 grams later I now have a little flashing light. :banana:

A good blinky is probably the only thing that might save my life from being snuffed out by a distracted (texting) driver. Been riding for almost 30 years and texting is the only thing that has ever really made me worry about my safety. A good blinky can really help catch the attention of a distracted driver during that instant that they gaze up at the road.

MattTuck
05-10-2016, 11:17 AM
Can't you feel that extra weight on the hills? Hopefully you got one that is aero.

JStonebarger
05-10-2016, 11:23 AM
I always have a red blinky going in back -- even midday. But I don't think it'll necessarily stop you from getting hit.