PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here riding Paul Klampers?

eBAUMANN
05-02-2016, 12:47 AM
Just wondering if any of you folks have put any miles in on some klampers?

As huge of a fan as I am of Paul's rim brake offerings, I am still a little skeptical about the single-sided actuation of these calipers.

Im particularly curious about how they feel vs TRP spyres, which have pretty much set the bar for me as far as cable actuated calipers are concerned.

Thanks in advance for your 2c!

https://paulcomp.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/klamper_gallery_2.jpg

MTB81
05-07-2016, 06:22 AM
Also curious ..

guido
05-07-2016, 06:46 AM
I have a set and a pair of nice Velocity wheels to go with them. Just waiting for the right bike to make it all work....

gdw
05-07-2016, 10:24 AM
I have no first hand experience with them but have a friend who tried them on a mtb and was underwhelmed. They look great but their performance isn't dramatically different than BB7s.

eBAUMANN
05-07-2016, 10:42 AM
Since posting this I found a few "reviews" that commented on a few design flaws in the caliper.

1 - the angle of the cable exiting the micro-adjuster is pretty dramatic on the longer arm design for mtb use, seems they were designed primarily with short pull levers in mind.

2 - the caliper itself is very wide, which on a low mount dropout can result in it overhanging the chain stay quite a bit and causing heel-clearance issues.

I love Paul, both the parts the make and as a company...but I think they might need to rethink this one a bit. The spyre has sorta set the standard for what a mechanical caliper should be these days (both in form factor and design) and I think Paul would have done well to use it as a jumping-off point for their own design, instead of the less-than-awesome bb7 style actuation.

That said, I look forward to the opportunity to ride these myself some day and prove myself wrong.

bicycletricycle
05-07-2016, 12:34 PM