PDA

View Full Version : Stiff hands after mountain biking

lamsawyer
04-30-2016, 07:15 PM
So I'm somewhat new to mountain biking after taking about a decade off, and now every time I go on a ride >2hrs my right hand is really stiff after. It's like I've got a claw for a few days after the ride. I've got front suspension on this bike and this problem has never happened on all-day road rides or cx rides. I've put bigger/softer grips on, fiddled with the cockpit geo, and made sure to release my death-grip but it hasn't helped much. Does anyone have any ideas? Do I just need to improve my hand strength?

David Kirk
04-30-2016, 07:21 PM
One this that is counter-intuative......soft grips will almost always make it worse. You tend to grab just that much harder in an effort to gain more control and all you do is squish the grip. Firm grips almost always take strain out of the hand.

You can play with grip diameter (big hands need big grips) so that your hand wraps the right amount.

One riding technique thing to keep in mind.....the bike can not be controlled with millimeter precision like on the road and you need to relax your shoulders, arms and hands and let the bike flow. Letting this happen with make the ride smoother and be easier on your body.

dave

Ken Robb
04-30-2016, 08:05 PM
Grips with flat extensions where you can rest your palms may help. DO they call these ergo style?

Tony
04-30-2016, 08:24 PM
You may be tense while riding, death gripping your bars. Try to relax your upper body with a light grip on your bars. You'll find that you have better control.

djg21
04-30-2016, 09:23 PM
Grips with flat extensions where you can rest your palms may help. DO they call these ergo style?

Ergon makes them. http://www.ergon-bike.com/us/en/product/gp1. I've used these for a long time and like them.

I'd suggest raising your bars. You might be supporting too much weight on your hands. Check your seat to make sure it's level or slightly nose up too.

lamsawyer