PDA

View Full Version : I'm a hack mechanic

stephenmarklay
04-13-2016, 09:28 PM
I was very excited to get my soma swept bars for
My commuter. I excitedly started to put the on and then got stuck. Literally that 40
Degree sweep and then the sweep back toward the center made me have to use brute force. I used a big screwdriver to open up the stem but the bar coating too a hit and I even gouged the bar a little. That sucks.

The only good news is that I was going to wrap the entire middle of the bar anyway but if this were a good bike I would be really unhappy. In guess a stem that opens in the front would be better but in 25.4 I am limited.

charliedid
04-13-2016, 09:30 PM
I've done WAY worse.

Life

Tickdoc
04-13-2016, 09:31 PM
I've got ya beat.

Iansir
04-13-2016, 09:38 PM
I once put a crankset on with drive side flipped 180, including reverse threading the BB shell. Too many IPAs...does not mix with major bike overhaul.

charliedid
04-13-2016, 09:44 PM
That's me in my "expert" T-Shirt. Irony never laughed so good. The fork? That would be my wife's. She took the photo.

bicycletricycle
04-14-2016, 12:05 AM
Slide hammering the bearing race onto the fork with the dropouts on the bench or some nonsense?

charliedid
04-14-2016, 07:53 AM
Slide hammering the bearing race onto the fork with the dropouts on the bench or some nonsense?

Yes sir. after 12 hours of work I decided to help build my wife's new Gunnar. Race not seating so I set it on the floor. (I kid not) It has a comfort mat next to the stands so I thought...

Bad move, sales guy.

Waterford to the rescue.

Tickdoc
04-14-2016, 08:02 AM
That's me in my "expert" T-Shirt. Irony never laughed so good. The fork? That would be my wife's. She took the photo.

Ouch. I don't have YOU beat, expert;)

charliedid
04-14-2016, 08:28 AM
Ouch. I don't have YOU beat, expert;)

I used to love wearing that shirt. My wife bought it for me ;-)