PDA

View Full Version : Another tubular question... Tire pressure

weisan
04-05-2016, 07:24 PM
I am following my own policy: if you don't ask, you will never learn.

I have limited experience with tubulars.
So, pardon my ignorance.

Do you pump the tubulars up to the same tire pressure as your clinchers?

I am using Vittoria Elite 25s.
I pumped my Open pave CG 27 clincher to about 80-85 in the rear and 70-75 in the front. That's what I found the most comfortable without getting too low and risking flats.

Satellite
04-05-2016, 07:51 PM

So, pardon my ignorance.

I pumped my Open pave CG 27 clincher to about 80-85 in the rear and 70-75 in the front. That's what I found the most comfortable without getting too low and risking flats.

Tubular don't really pinch flat like clinchers. Atleast I have never pinch flatted. You don't want to run them so low you are riding on sidewalls. I would say your current Clincher pressures are a great start 80 rear and 70 front.

Vittoria Elites in 25's are great tires. Tubular still ride better than anything else out there in my opinion.

john903
04-05-2016, 08:09 PM
I run the same tires at Vittoria Elite 25 at 85 front 90 rear on the road and 75 front 80 rear when I ride on compact gravel forest service road, and I weigh 160. They really are great tires for the money.
Have a great day.

weisan
04-05-2016, 08:35 PM
Thank you pals!

Tickdoc
04-05-2016, 08:53 PM
85 front, 90-100 rears on my vittoria corsa's.

regularguy412
04-05-2016, 09:17 PM
Rule of thumb: higher volume tire (say 25-28 and up) you can get by with lower pressures. But if you ride skinny tires (19s) make sure you put some pressure in 'em.

Mike in AR:beer:

buldogge
04-05-2016, 10:01 PM
No that it matters...since tire pressures are like opinions...but...I like 100F 105R on Vittoria CX 25s (or Paves, or Michelin SC 24s).

FWIW.

-Mark in St. Louis

KJMUNC
04-05-2016, 11:04 PM
I'm a 85 R / 80 F kind of guy on Veloflex Roubaix tires and I'm 190ish.