PDA

View Full Version : How do I know when my Ergos need a rebuild?

icepick_trotsky
03-30-2016, 09:14 AM
I'm pretty new to the Ergo scene, and have been using them on my Mercian build for about 3 or 4 months now. They're 10 speed Daytona, circa 2000, and I bought them well used.

The shifting is . . . not great. They frequently miss shifts and occasionally shift two cogs with two cogs with one click. This most frequently happens when I'm into a larger cog, especially near the middle of the cassette. Is the problem with the shifters, or is the culprit somewhere else in the drivetrain? I've cleaned and lubed the rear derailleur, which helped a lot, and there doesn't seem to be excess friction anywhere in the cables.

thirdgenbird
03-30-2016, 09:17 AM
Does the thumb lever feel soft and vague or does it gave a positive click feel/sound?

icepick_trotsky
03-30-2016, 09:18 AM
I always get a positive click with the thumb and the finger button. No issues there.

icepick_trotsky
03-30-2016, 09:22 AM
Could dropout alignment be the culprit? Its a 30 year old frame, and I never properly cold set it for 130mm spacing.

thirdgenbird
03-30-2016, 09:34 AM
If the shifter is giving solid and positive clicks, the springs and carrier should be fine.

Derailleur hanger alignment, cable routing, or a loose cassette locking could be a cause. Do either of the derailleur pivots feel worn or sloppy? We are dealing with a matched group correct? 10spd ergos, rd, chain and a campy spaced cassette?

icepick_trotsky
03-30-2016, 09:50 AM
If the shifter is giving solid and positive clicks, the springs and carrier should be fine.

Derailleur hanger alignment, cable routing, or a loose cassette locking could be a cause. Do either of the derailleur pivots feel worn or sloppy? We are dealing with a matched group correct? 10spd ergos, rd, chain and a campy spaced cassette?