PDA

View Full Version : The not quite Imelda Marcos road shoe story and thread

Elefantino
03-24-2016, 12:42 PM
So my wife had grown out of love with her two pairs of Spesh road shoes and wanted something more comfortable. Something about feet changing with age. (Quote me on that last sentence and I will deny it. :D)

So we tried various brands we had on hand: a couple of Shimanos, a Giro, some Garneaus. All were a big negatory. Good thing we have a liberal return policy.

Now I have been wearing adidas since the mid-2000s; I still have three pairs left of the four I bought, one unopened. I also have a pair of Mavics, built on the same last. So the wife says she wanted to try Mavics because of the mesh toe box. Unfortunately, Mavic's new women's shoes don't have an all-mesh toe; there's a strip of pleather down the middle, as in most shoes. Their older women's top-of-the-lines, the Zxenons (who names these things?) had them, but they've been out of production for a year.

Longer story somewhat less long, I found a pair in her size (42) at a place called Bikewagon for $80 on 70 percent off closeout and bought them for her to try. She loves them. Best shoes ever. So, naturally, I had to get another pair. This took some more doing. A bit of a search found a pair of 42s in a bike shop in Toulouse. As in France. Bought those, and they're on their way.

Are others of you as particular about your shoes that you will go to such Herculean, honey-you-are-the-greatest-ever-and-of-course-you-can-get-that-Super-Record-EPS-group lengths?

cdn_bacon
03-24-2016, 12:47 PM
Heck yes. I'm in the same boat. The Giro's without the superfit insoles fit me the best. If it came down to it, I'd buy them from anywhere far. just think of the amount of km's you'll put on them comfortably. I can justify it.:cool:

bfd
03-24-2016, 02:22 PM
Don't show her these....