PDA

View Full Version : It Feels Good to Go Fast

DRietz
03-20-2016, 10:53 PM
I was recently urged by one of my coach's other athletes to post up on the forum about my experience these past few months, so here it goes. Just to be clear, this isn't meant to be an advertisement for my coach, more like a ringing endorsement. Just me doing some bragging. But if you have any questions or want me to put you in touch, feel free to reach out. I'm also linking him at the end.

For those of you here that don't know me, I'm a third year undergraduate at UC Berkeley studying plant genetics. Besides my academic career, I've also spent a fair amount of time in the cycling world for my (relatively) young age. I've worked in shops for like a third of my life, started racing shortly after I started wrenching, and now help to coordinate the cycling team here at Cal.

The funny thing is, though, for as long as I've had a USAC license (going on 6 years, according to the internet), I've never really ever been good at racing a bike.

To give you some perspective: I've never weighed more than 137lbs in my life, but until recently, I'd never been able to hang on in a race featuring anything resembling a climb. When I did hang on, I finished as pack fodder. I've done okay in crits, but that's mostly owing to the bike handling I have from my mountain bike background, and I'd never ever won a sprint.

I was lucky to fall under the experienced supervision of my coach right at the beginning of November. And since then, my already-busy schedule of work and class and research got a little busier, but manageably so - my workouts were expertly crafted to fit my hectic schedule. My legs and lungs most certainly felt the burn, but they also got stronger because I put in the work - I never skipped a workout, and when I needed motivation or advice, it was only ever a text away.