PDA

View Full Version : Training for a 100 mile charity ride??

skiezo
03-14-2016, 04:28 PM
I am planning on doing a 100 mile charity ride this year.
At 52 I can do 50 miles fairly easy but that extra 50 just seems like so much further.
I have about 4 months to work up to this milage. I am looking for some training suggestions to help me reach the 100 mile goal.
What type of training would others suggest to help me achieve my goal.
I have been riding for 30+ years and did the local crit scene in my younger days.
I can get out a few times during the week and have the weekends free.
Thanks Brian

1centaur
03-14-2016, 04:52 PM
The cliche advice for someone who has never ridden a century is to work up to 75 in training and then just gut it out on the day of the century. Your experience is so much greater than that it seems that the mental side will be the harder part.

My advice would be to turn your easy 50 into a 60 several times, then do a 75 to see if you can stand it more than a month before the 100, and if you can then do a few 60-70s and try to psych yourself up for the one time ride. A mistake would be to burn a lot of that enthusiasm up in 75-ish rides, because you don't need them physically so they'd just tax you mentally.

AngryScientist
03-14-2016, 04:53 PM
Hi Brian.

The biggest difference between 50 miles and 100 is that you're going to need nutrition to get you to the century mark. Most of us in good shape can ride 50 miles on just water, but much past that, you need to understand what your body needs to re-fuel and make that happen.

Other variables are important. temperature and elevation gain; wind can be a factor too. Riding a flat 100 in 60 degrees and a hilly century at 90 and two majorly different animals.