PDA

View Full Version : Trek 5200 gravel conversion

DrSpoke
03-07-2016, 10:21 PM
Well, I've volunteered to help a friend convert her Trek 5200 for light duty off-road use. Though I have some experience w/Shimano on my mountain and gravel bikes, I'm not very knowledgeable about the older road groups. Specifically, I want to install a cassette with much lower gearing and a long cage RD compatible w/the shifters. I'm also looking for ideas on tires.

For the cassette, I'd like to have at least a 34t low and perhaps a 36t. They are available from SRAM in various models and Shimano in their mountain bike groups. So the 1st question is whether the Shimano mountain cassettes, such as the M771, have compatible cog spacing for use with road shifters.

Next up is the rear derailleur. My assumption is that I would convert to a long cage Shimano road derailleur, probably an Ultegra RD-6700 or perhaps a 105 RD-5700. But, a 2nd question would be whether there are Shimano mountain RDs that are compatible with the Dura-Ace shifters.

Next up are tires. I'd like to use the largest that will fit. It looks like there is quite a bit of clearance w/the 25s so think I'll be ok with a 28c and maybe a 30c. Does anyone have experience as to what the largest tire that may fit? And I'm looking for ideas for a reasonably priced tire, I assume in a 28c. I would like something durable, of course, but also with some tread, if possible, and reasonable weight.

The budget is unknown but I'd like to keep prices reasonable if possible. I am, of course, am open to other ideas I've not considered.

Currently the bike is set up with: Crankset = FSA SL-K compact 50/34, Shifters = Shimano Dura-Ace ST-7800 10-sp, FD = Generic, RD = Shimano Dura-Ace RD-7800, Cassette = Shimano 105 CS-5700, Chain = Shimano Ultegra CN-6701, and Tire = Continental SuperSport 700x25c.

Thanks for any and all ideas.

oldpotatoe
03-08-2016, 05:53 AM