PDA

View Full Version : Ridng with the Better Half

a100mark
06-08-2006, 07:41 AM
So here is a tough one, that I admit I have little experience with......

My better half and I both ride. Up until lately we were both pretty evenly matched on rides. (I have more weight on me than she does, so that obviously slows me down). I have since hired a cycling coach who has got me training 5 days a week, which I love. Last night, on a local group ride/training for me, I rode a faster pace than she did. Although, I was in the lead group, we never really broke away leaving those of us behind out of sight. However, we def did kick up the pace for those trying to follow.
After we stopped to allow the "dropped, but still in sight riders" to catch back on, I was in big trouble with her.

So my question is this.....How do you successfully ride with your better half, while still trying to improve, but not end up getting divorced? Thoughts, comments?

Larry D
06-08-2006, 07:59 AM
a100mark,

I have a similiar situation. My wife rides, but our cycling goals and abilities are much different. I enjoy riding with her and when I ride with her, I ride at her pace. This is a much slower and relaxed pace than I normally cycle at, but I get to see more scenery and it is very enjoyable. These make for a very good recovery ride. She has no problem with my going off on club rides or centuries and I do not try to induce her very far out of her comfort zone otherwise she will stop cycling because she will no longer enjoy it. We have the same situatioin when ity comes to kayaking.

I am trying to get her to try a tandem and that way we can ride together.

Hoipefully this has been of some help.

Onno
06-08-2006, 08:07 AM