PDA

View Full Version : Very OT - Scientists detect gravitational waves

NHAero
02-11-2016, 04:44 PM
Almost 100 years after Einstein predicted their existence - pretty darn cool science!

http://news.mit.edu/2016/ligo-first-detection-gravitational-waves-0211

rnhood
02-11-2016, 04:45 PM
Almost 100 years after Einstein predicted their existence - pretty darn cool science!

http://news.mit.edu/2016/ligo-first-detection-gravitational-waves-0211

Good job Albert. He was a thinker.

2LeftCleats
02-11-2016, 05:16 PM
Wondered what was slowing me down.

rounder
02-11-2016, 08:03 PM
Obviously I am no scientist. But with all the technology that is available today and with all of the scientists who have come and gone over the last 100 years, it is pretty cool that Einstein was able to come up with that.

"Einstein is right in a regime where his theory has never been tested before.”

MattTuck
02-11-2016, 08:16 PM
If anyone cares, there was a good PBS show (I think NOVA) on Einstein and his theory a few weeks ago. Probably available ONdemand or via the PBS website.

He was a very special individual. The show indicated he created General Relativity in the space of 4 weeks due to a series of lectures he was scheduled to give on the topic, explaining his theory. Would be like writing War and Peace on a deadline.

Still, he wasn't all knowing. He never figured out the unified theory, and still had doubts about quantum theory. I'm not even sure string theory was a thing when he died. Still, he did radically change our perception of the universe around us.

mtb_frk
02-11-2016, 09:11 PM
First detection of a binary black hole pair also. Very cool stuff indeed.

unterhausen
02-11-2016, 10:46 PM
I don't think it's OT, if it weren't for gravity I'd be a much better cyclist

spartanKid
02-11-2016, 11:46 PM
He never figured out the unified theory, and still had doubts about quantum theory. I'm not even sure string theory was a thing when he died