PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Tape Recommendations

GregL
02-02-2016, 11:21 AM
Looking for recommendations for good finishing tapes for road handlebars. I usually use Profile bar wrap, but don't care for their finishing tape. I haven't been pleased with electrical tape either, as it usually moves and gets sticky.

Thanks,
Greg

leftsidedrive
02-02-2016, 11:29 AM
I wrap bars for a living.

It seems that the factory finishing tape is usually garbage, unless you are paid to ride that product, it's damn near useless.

High quality e-tape is the best. It needs to be high temperature, and not a cheap .99 cent roll. 3m makes a good product. It's usually 5-6 dollars a roll, and available in multiple colors if that's your thing.

Heat shrink is the ultimate terminating material. It looks amazing, is durable, and doesn't shift or walk. Here is the kicker, you have to slide it on BEFORE you mount shifters/levers/cable&housing. Extra points if you wrap colored e-tape under it and use a design punch to cut out holes/shapes in the heat shrink...

Lastly, GOOD e-tape wont walk or get sticky if you just cover the bar wrap itself. You start getting into trouble when you put it on the transition of the bar/wrap. The terminating piece should be exactly the width of the tape, no wider. 2 tight wraps, and then 1 not so tight wrap will always make it it nice..... Furthermore, cutting the beginning and end of the bar wrap at the correct angle will greatly decrease the chance of it walking or looking like garbage.

batman1425
02-02-2016, 11:29 AM
Generic electrical tape or the good stuff? I find the 3M Super 33 or Super 88 to be far superior to the generic stuff in terms of holding and residue.

If you are set on a non-electrical tape option - you could try heat shrink tubing. I've seen some slick work done with old inner tubes.

Tony T
02-02-2016, 11:31 AM
I also use Scotch Super 33+ w/o any problems.

jamesau
02-02-2016, 11:44 AM