PDA

View Full Version : Friend died

vaxn8r
06-01-2006, 05:29 PM
http://www.registerguard.com/news/2006/06/01/d1.cr.fatal.0601.p1.php?section=cityregion

Jane was a friend of mine. She rode year-round, every week like clockwork. She was phenomenally fit, super smart and a fantastic human being. Her death hit the community here like a ton of bricks.

Apparently the four riders were in a paceline on a narrow section of road I've ridden a thousand times. The second rider went down, not sure if the log truck bearing down forced the situation but there are potholes on that section he may have hit. Anyway, rider 3 just missed him and Jane ran over him and rolled toward the center line and the log truck rolled right over her killing her instantly. Horrifying!

Sometimes I wonder what the he!! I'm doing on a bike...

Fixed
06-01-2006, 05:40 PM
bro i'm not very good with words but I think she put more life in hers than most people do that die of old age .

Tailwinds
06-01-2006, 05:47 PM
Vax, I am very sorry to hear that. Remember all the good stuff. Prayers going your way -- and hers.

bcm119
06-01-2006, 05:54 PM
This has been bothering me and I didn't even know Jane; its scary when something like that happens in your own back yard. Really makes you think about our sport. Logging trucks whiz by all the time, and its just a matter of inches. This accident has been discussed quite a bit on the obra list today and it seems that the details are still fairly sketchy... but like KevinK said it doesn't matter much right now.

Very sad to hear about this.... I think the entire Willamette valley cycling community is pretty shaken today.

Bud
06-01-2006, 05:55 PM
Sorry to hear about the loss. It sounds like the community will miss her terribly. I'll be thinking of you, and of her memory.

Peace-

catulle
06-01-2006, 06:03 PM