PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Ride a Synapse?

redir
01-08-2016, 10:19 AM
I'm seriously considering one of these bikes for this year, and many more to come, and I suppose I'm just looking for some positive reviews to rienforce my opinion of it :)

Negative reviews are also welcome.

I still race. Not as much as I used to and I don't have any high expectations like I used to. The last race I won was probably 7 years ago as a cat 3 and it's been all down hill ever since. But I still enjoy it and get just enough training to not get dropped (till the end) and maybe help out a younger teammate.

I've been riding and racing a Moots compact for the last 7 or 8 years and while it's a great bike I bought it in a sort of traditional old school race frame that was smaller and fitted to me. It's a great bike. I love it, fast and corners like it's on rails.

But you know how it is, ya get the itch.

Anyway I do more regular Joe riding now anyway and where I live you pretty much can't avoid gravel roads, which I hate BTW. I am not considering the Synapse for a gravel bike because if it were up to me I'd never ride on gravel. But I like the philosophy behind these bikes. It almost seems to me as though they are a sort of throw back to the old style bikes where you had a more upright position, longer wheel base, and could actually fit some large tires.

I have a few of those vintage steel bikes too.

Of course the Synapse is carbon and a compact frame so it's different.

So what do you think? Is it a race worthy bike that is also a pleasure to ride long distances on over a variety of terrain or is it just an old man bike? :D

JAGI410
01-08-2016, 11:49 AM
I think the Synapse is a great riding bike, certainly capable of what you're looking for. It's not old man-ish and super upright. It's fast and comfortable!