PDA

View Full Version : Winter clothing NOT for riding

Ti Designs
01-05-2016, 10:10 AM
I've been riding year 'round near Boston for 25 years, I think I have dressing down to a science. I also product test for a number of clothing makers, some of whom even listen to me (most don't - a rant for a different day). This winter, my mode of transportation when it's cold is either my bike or my feet, so this morning (it was 10F outside) I walked to the gym. What I found was what works for riding doesn't work that well for walking. A number of things failed, like my glasses kept fogging up - that doesn't happen when the bike is moving... OK, a face mask that directs my breath down will solve that problem. Next, I don't generate the same kind of heat, so the thermal layer isn't getting the job done. I'm going to need far more loft in that layer than what I wear while riding. Then there's the fact that I'm going to the gym, so having 4 layers to take off and then put back on is gonna get old.

There are plenty of serious hikers on this forum, how much crossover do you allow between the two activities, and what do you use that's off the bike only?

FlashUNC
01-05-2016, 10:15 AM
I'm a big fan of down vests or jackets for insulation.

Don't work on the bike for a lot of reasons, but keep the chill out off.

benb
01-05-2016, 10:18 AM
For 10 degrees extended time outside without heavy exertion:

Thick/High-loft Primaloft liner + hard shell
Something like snowboard pants + long underwear underneath - fleece pants would be fine when going to the gym
Insulated boots + wool socks
Serious gloves + hat (fleece with ear extensions) + hard shell hood
If it was ultra nasty ski mask
Don't have this right now but ski goggles.. some have extraction fans for glasses wearers.. they do mostly work.

That's roughly what I wear for some stuff like running the snowblower when it's stupid cold.. pretty much impervious to the weather.