PDA

View Full Version : OT: Making a Murderer on Netflix AWESOME (possible spoilers)

velomonkey
12-30-2015, 10:15 AM
I am on episode 8 of Making a Murderer. This is one of the best documentaries I have ever seen. Increadible.

If you haven't watched it - do so now and then come back here and discuss.

8aaron8
12-30-2015, 10:41 AM
I just started this last night after hearing about it over xmas dinner. 1 and 1/2 episodes in, very entertaining so far....

CunegoFan
12-30-2015, 12:31 PM
Afterward you might want to read this along with the transcript that is linked.

http://www.pajiba.com/netflix_movies_and_tv/is-steven-avery-guilty-evidence-making-a-murderer-didnt-present.php

Tony Edwards
12-30-2015, 02:49 PM
THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS.

I have watched the entire series.

I am a 17-year attorney. While I currently practice commercial litigation, I have worked extensively as both a prosecutor (I prosecuted the most aggravated sex offender in the history of the Air Force, who received life in prison), and defense attorney (including obtaining a full acquittal in a first-degree murder case).

There is no question the investigations and prosecutions of both Avery and Dassey were flawed. The incompetent representation of Brendan Dassey by Len Kachinsky likely had a significantly deleterious effect on both cases. To me Kachinsky, in particular, came off as the most egregious "villain" in the series, and his total lack of loyalty to his client, and horrendous judgment, just blew me away.

There are a number of pieces of evidence that cause me to have real questions about whether Avery and/or Dassey were guilty. In particular, the recorded calls of Avery talking to his fiancee the day of the murder - he sounds unhurried and calm - and the recording of the Manitowoc officer calling in the license plate from Teresa Haibach's car, days before it was found.