PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on Minoura rim drive trainer

axel23
12-29-2015, 09:11 PM
Does anyone have experience with this trainer: Minoura RDA80? I know it's handy for mountain bikes, but was thinking of using it for my rode bike. It's design avoids wearing out tires, but wondering what the actual experience of rim resistance might be.
Thx in advance.

foo_fighter
12-29-2015, 11:03 PM
for that much, get a smart trainer and a trainer tire or something like:

https://www.sportcrafters.com/products/omnium-trainer/omnium-trainer

bewheels
12-30-2015, 06:45 AM
Does anyone have experience with this trainer: Minoura RDA80? I know it's handy for mountain bikes, but was thinking of using it for my rode bike. It's design avoids wearing out tires, but wondering what the actual experience of rim resistance might be.
Thx in advance.

I will first state that I have no experience with this trainer. ...which means that you can stop reading this reply.

But because this is a forum I will add more.

It would appear that you are trying to avoid swapping tires in order to use the trainer. This might be because you are running tubulars or simply have tires you like and don't want to subject them to a trainer. Both of which are very understandable.

It would also be good to know what you are looking to use the trainer for - inside training, pre-race warm-up, etc.

To focus on inside training, as a clincher user I just save some old tires and swap one on/off the wheel. Takes 5 minutes. No big deal. When the weather starts to change over and there is a mix of indoor and outdoor riding it does mean that I am swapping tires 1-2 a week. Once the whether settles either be full time out side or inside, no more swapping.

Potentially you have already sorted out all of the above and simply want feedback on the trainer that you asked about :)

Skenry
12-30-2015, 07:35 AM
I have one, don't use it much, but it works fine. Mines the adjustable magnetic unit.