PDA

View Full Version : OT: Dirt Bikes - which one?

mtflycaster
05-30-2006, 11:21 AM
OK...

I know some of you guys/gals are also interested in the motorized version of two wheels, Ducatis, etc.

I've owned three different street bikes in the distant past (up to an 800cc BMW), but am currently bikeless and have been for about the last 10 years. However, I am interested now in getting a dirt bike to ride logging and 4WD roads around here. Nothing too technical. Been doing some research.

There have apparently been some big advances in bikes the last 6 or 8 years. Better suspensions. More power. Scary power. And that's my question.

Bikes like the KTM 450exc and Honda CRF450x are tempting. Hot bikes. But given I'm just getting into it, are they really TOO much bike? I also understand that they require higher maintenance than some of the older bikes.

An alternative for might be an older tech and more docile and bulletproof Honda xr400. Or, should I even start smaller than that?

Anyway, I know their are other forums out there dedicated to this topic, but I thought I'd ask my fellow Serotta forumites, whom I know and trust. :-)

Thanks...

Pete

christian
05-30-2006, 12:34 PM
I've owned a KTM 640 Adventure and a Honda thumper, and had the good fortune to ride everything from a XR400R to a KTM 950 Adventure and a BMW HP2.

I think you need to ask yourself the following questions:

1) Realistically, what % of riding will be on dirt/pavement?
2) How far do you want to ride on the average day? The longest day?
3) Any touring, or will you sleep at home every night?

- Christian

jitahs
05-30-2006, 11:27 PM
xr400 a great choice--always starts, tractable power. It's a Honda, fer cxsakes.

I have a ktm 200exc--very light, 'cept when it's on top of you. Minus? 2-stroke: check your local listings if legal. Little bike agile bike=good, same mantra as bike bikes.

p.s. Most new motos are too friggin' fast

jckid
05-31-2006, 10:18 AM