PDA

View Full Version : My new CIII

bcm119
12-17-2003, 07:42 PM
I've put a few miles on my new CIII, and it is everything I hoped it would be. It is my first steel bike, and first Serotta. I've been riding a Klein for the past 4 years, and the difference is astounding. I purchased my CIII as a frame/fork only and I built it up with all the same components/wheels as my Klein, except for
headset, seatpost, stem and BB. Besides a perfect fit, the number one difference is ride quality- the CIII absorbs alot of buzz and roughness. Number two difference is cornering- the CIII feels whispy light yet very stable in corners (it is about the same weight). I finally understand the meaning of the word "snap" in describing steel frames. So far I don't believe it lacks any climbing efficiency compared to the super stiff Klein, and I may be in a more efficient position now anyway.

Thanks to all the knowledgeable folks on this board who influenced my decision to go with a CIII over the past few months, I am grateful.

dnovo
12-17-2003, 10:09 PM
Welcome to the Family. Sounds like a wonderful ride. Enjoy it and have fun. Dave N.

Kevin
12-18-2003, 05:19 AM
bcm119,

Welcome to the asylum. You will love it.

Kevin

Len J
12-18-2003, 06:15 AM
Going from a Klein to a CIII is a hugh change in ride characteristics.

Glad you are enjoying it.

Many Miles with the rubber side down.

Congrats.

Len

mickeyc
12-18-2003, 06:27 AM
Congratulations on your C III. I too have one and I love it. I went from riding a Giant OCR to the C III and what a difference. The ride is so much more comfortable and enjoyable. Enjoy your new ride.

saab2000
12-18-2003, 07:18 AM
I am really happy that you have shared this with us. I myself would like to get a new bike but cannot justify the cost of the other Serottas and I feel that the CIII must offer 99% of the benefits of the more expensive rides at a much lower cost.