PDA

View Full Version : Sewups, Removing, Replacing. issues? Tips?

Ronsonic
12-06-2015, 10:20 PM
I'm not a complete newb, but not that experienced either. In the past I've mounted tires and left them there until they've worn / rotted otherwise died. Never fixed a flat either. Never had a flat on a tubular that wasn't worn out already. Yeah, lucky.

So now I'm in a situation where I want to move some tires around between wheels. Is it as simple as pull, remount on the next cleaned rim? Sure seems like it should be. Anything to watch out for? Hidden horrors?

Dead Man
12-06-2015, 10:25 PM
It's a big mystery until you do it. Depends on the type of glue, how well you glued them, how well they're still glued, and the rim material, and the type of basetape on the tub. Generally, they come off a lot easier when they're old.. generally will fight you if the glue is new.. sometimes this results in basetape tearing off, sometimes it rips a skin off the basetape (Vittoria), sometimes the glue mostly pulls straight off the rim, sometimes none comes off the rim and it all pulls off the basetape. Sometimes you get carbon ripping off a carbon rim.. pretty lame, but so long as it's not too much, it's not necessarily a big deal.

In summary - best not to go ripping tires off unless you really need to

ultraman6970
12-06-2015, 11:38 PM
Remove the tubular... apply glue to the rim eventhought has glue already there, mount the tubular again... done.

BTW, If you want to clean the rims is your call.

oldpotatoe
12-07-2015, 06:12 AM
I'm not a complete newb, but not that experienced either. In the past I've mounted tires and left them there until they've worn / rotted otherwise died. Never fixed a flat either. Never had a flat on a tubular that wasn't worn out already. Yeah, lucky.