PDA

View Full Version : running does actually help I think

saab2000
05-26-2006, 08:35 PM
For the past 8 months or so I have had some of the worst (read least cycling-friendly) schedules I have ever had in my working life. That should slowly start to improve in the next few months though.

Anyway, during my 4-day trips I cannot ride at all. But I do try to run at least two of those days, sometimes three. They are not long runs, but are in the 3-4 mile range. Not hard either. Just jogging.

But today I get on my bike and crack off 55 miles at a pretty decent pace. :banana: I have been averaging about 2-3 rides per week for the past 8 months and 2-3 runs per week as well. It would seem to me that it would not be possible to maintain decent bike fitness if I remained inactive during my 4-day trips.

Cycling is my sport. Running is not, though there are times I actually don't hate it.

Does anyone else combine something else? The muscles are different of course, but the heart and breathing stuff has got to be helped by running.

Fixed
05-26-2006, 08:40 PM
bro i use to run and what i notice is it took some snap out of my legs
that is what i like that fast snap . but it comes back fast when you cut back the running i.m.h.o. anything that gets you outside and moving is great cheers

saab2000
05-26-2006, 08:46 PM
bro i use to run and what i notice is it took some snap out of my legs
that is what i like that fast snap . but it comes back fast when you cut back the running i.m.h.o. anything that gets you outside and moving is great cheers

There is no doubt that it takes out any snap I ever had. But there is also no doubt that doing nothing would take more snap out. And my choices on most of my layovers are running or nothing. So running it is.

cs124
05-27-2006, 07:34 AM