PDA

View Full Version : Rare Home Mechanic 'Pucker' Moment

Vamoots58
11-02-2015, 09:24 AM
I've been doing all of my own wrenching for about 15 years. I am a bit of a tool nut, if there is a specific tool for a job I need to do, I buy it, even if it may never get used again (hey, you never know). In the process of building up my next project, a Look 695. First bike with an integrated seat post. The old 'measure twice, cut once' wasn't going to be enough to satisfy my angst. Over the course of Saturday and Sunday, must have measured 10+ times, walking away only to come back and re-measure. Installed the cutting guide, then taped the e-post to the frame to confirm the BB-to-Saddle again. Then came the fretting over how many spacers to include to afford myself the maximum flexibility later. Finally took a deep breadth and made the cut last night. Neuroses notwithstanding, the end result was a perfect one. Had to take a moment and laugh at myself, the uber-confident mechanic that sweat over a measurement and cut for two days, despite the fact the measurements never varied. Oh well, the EPS installation will be a piece of quiche after all that.

chiasticon
11-02-2015, 09:31 AM
I feel your pain. I was pretty freaked cutting the integrated seat mast for my ritte, and it's not nearly as pricey as your look. first time doing that for me then, too. I didn't measure for two days before chopping it, but I probably measured ten times.

paredown
11-02-2015, 10:24 AM
Seems reasonable to me--

I've been working on my own too long, and I have started to forget to do that last check--never a good thing.

I miss working with my dad and older brother--they were always the procedure/quality control guys...

Dead Man
11-02-2015, 10:36 AM
Integrated seatpost.... my bad.

Yea... that would be a pucker moment.

oldpotatoe
11-02-2015, 10:39 AM
No fun with your own bike, really no fun with customer's bike. Mess it up, shop buys new frame time.

Gummee
11-02-2015, 10:47 AM