PDA

View Full Version : Specialized Diverge carbon Any experience?

Tommasini53
10-26-2015, 08:01 PM
My wife has been wanting a "gravel" bike. We found that Specialized Diverge fits her very well. So we're contemplating the Diverge Expert (carbon frame/some Ultegra parts).

She has a Serotta Nove (2002 era) road bike and the Diverge would be something she could use to explore our gravel and gravel rail-trails. I'm hoping that it possess a ride quality that it won't be a big step down from road bike.

If any forumites have experience with this model from Speicalized or carbon Specialized frames generally I would love to hear the positives and negatives as I have no experience with Specialized bikes. I am glad to see it has Ultegra, unfortunately it has disc brakes. But it is a geometry the suits her very well. :beer:

mvrider
10-26-2015, 09:18 PM
see this thread:
http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=176236

DrSpoke
10-26-2015, 10:28 PM
A friend of mine has a 2015 Expert and loves it. He's been riding it hard - almost like a hardtail/rigid mountain bike. He's also ridden it on the road. So, a very versatile bike. In fact, it's in my garage right now as I'm giving it a tune up. Another friend just bought a 2016 Pro but haven't got a ride report yet though I'm sure he's going to love it. He's put on 25c road tires on the OEM carbon wheels for now until he can get a 2nd set of wheels to mount some larger off-road tires.

This bike seems to lean a little to the road side compared to many gravel bikes. This is not a bad thing depending on your intended use. It seems to be very similar to the Roubaix, i.e. an endurance/fondo type bike, but with room for much larger tires and, of course, disc brakes. I think it's a great looking bike as well.