PDA

View Full Version : Mystery index steering issues

EPOJoe
10-25-2015, 10:33 PM
OK, so a few months back I noticed that the headset on one of my bikes was having some issues with index steering, popping into and sticking in a straight forward handlebar position when I let the bars swing freely. Just out of curiosity, I checked my other bikes, and unfortunately found another that was having the exact same problem. The confusing thing for me is that both the headsets on these bikes are relatively new (Campy Record and Cane Creek) with only around 4k miles on each. Investigating, I removed both headsets, cleaned and re-greased, and inspected everything, seeing no signs of any pitting or indentations in the races. Well, that solved the problem, but only for around a month, and now both bikes are showing the index steering again. I'm no expert, so it's possible that there's wear there that I'm not seeing, but is this normal for headsets with only 4k miles on them?

Thanks much,
Joe

bewheels
10-25-2015, 10:40 PM
Because I have to ask...any chance there is something else getting caught or interfering with movement? Cables, wires, etc.

Did you try repositioning the cups, bearings, etc to see if it is still there in the same spot?

EPOJoe
10-26-2015, 12:12 AM
Because I have to ask...any chance there is something else getting caught or interfering with movement? Cables, wires, etc.

Did you try repositioning the cups, bearings, etc to see if it is still there in the same spot?

Yep, checked the cables, and they're not causing it. I moved the bearings and the upper cup section to a different position when I cleaned and re-greased.

Dude
10-26-2015, 10:51 AM
Index steering is usually do to the headset being overtightened.

1) When you checked for pitting/indentations, how did you do it? Take a ball point pen or dental pick and run it along the race. You might feel something that a visual inspection missed.