PDA

View Full Version : Winter is around the corner-best cold weather mitts/glove?

93legendti
10-18-2015, 06:19 AM
Frost warnings last night...
I lost one of my Ibex winter mitts and they aren't made anymore. They had covered my winter needs for over 10 years.

So what is out there? And when I say winter, I mean 20 degrees or lower..

Thanks in advance.

guido
10-18-2015, 06:30 AM
I've been happy with Perl Izumi Elite Softshell gloves. They are primaloft lined and keep my cold prone fingers pretty tosty...

Tandem Rider
10-18-2015, 06:36 AM
Everyone's hands and cold tolerance seem to be a little different. Pearl Izumi Lobster Claws work for me below 35, they're too warm if it's above 35. If it's too cold for them I either ride the trainer or ski.

Cicli
10-18-2015, 06:36 AM
Barmits.

Tickdoc
10-18-2015, 07:00 AM
alternative glove idea: I've been riding with neoprene fishing gloves for the last five years and just love them. I bought them fishing for salmon in Alaska a while back and have bought two pairs since then. They are great for inclement weather down to the 30's and offer a crazy amount of cushion for way less than you would spend on cycling specific gloves. Windproof and Fleece lined, they heat up once your hands sweat and trap the heat in just like a wetsuit.(mine don't have the ugly blue strap).

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-Wcg8eFBFjRU/TcB0qRwmksI/AAAAAAAABYA/3dm24gSS2yw/s1600/Glacier-Glove.jpg

Best $25 cycling purchase for winter riding ever....except for my turtle fur :~)

http://thumbnail.image.rakuten.co.jp/@0_gold/txgolf/000/0799036-1.jpg

93legendti
10-18-2015, 07:05 AM