PDA

View Full Version : First-time Hydro Disc Brake Setup... Tips/Tricks?

xeladragon
10-01-2015, 08:06 AM
I just ordered the Shimano RS685 shifter/brake set... looking forward to trying hydro discs for the first time!

For the most part, I do my own wrenching, but I've never worked with hydro disc brakes before. I watched a few YouTube videos last night... doesn't sound too bad.

Any installation tips/tricks/advice? Do I need any special tools other than a bleed kit?

BTW, if anyone in the Boston area wants to help me with installation, I'll pay you with the beverage(s) of your choice. :)

:help: Thanks!

ergott
10-01-2015, 08:12 AM
I didn't do anything different than the videos I watched. Only thing to consider is the lever angle so that the reservoir is facing all the way up which means the lever is pointed up more than the position you have them in when riding.

Tap them with a plastic hammer (or the back of a screwdriver) to knock the bubbles up to the top. Be patient and keep repeating until the lever feel is firm when the caliper contacts the yellow plastic block (don't do the install with pads and rotor in place).

oldpotatoe
10-01-2015, 09:56 AM
I just ordered the Shimano RS685 shifter/brake set... looking forward to trying hydro discs for the first time!

For the most part, I do my own wrenching, but I've never worked with hydro disc brakes before. I watched a few YouTube videos last night... doesn't sound too bad.

Any installation tips/tricks/advice? Do I need any special tools other than a bleed kit?

BTW, if anyone in the Boston area wants to help me with installation, I'll pay you with the beverage(s) of your choice. :)

:help: Thanks!

If shortening a line, you may need fittings/acorns/banjo fittings type stuff and Shimano fluid.

vqdriver
10-01-2015, 01:09 PM