PDA

View Full Version : Open Cycles Unbeaten Path

Cornfed
09-23-2015, 02:48 PM
Saw this new frame from Open Cycles:

http://up.opencycle.com/

Still not sure about carbon for a hard core gravel bike, but they do have some interesting design elements. And of course, being orange doesn't hurt in my book. Now about that price ...

adhumston
09-23-2015, 09:38 PM
Saw this new frame from Open Cycles:

http://up.opencycle.com/

Still not sure about carbon for a hard core gravel bike, but they do have some interesting design elements. And of course, being orange doesn't hurt in my book. Now about that price ...

I like it.

Carbon has worked for mt bikes for years now, it can handle gravel fine (and I've been rocking a carbon Ibis for a few years on gravel w/o issue).

sessl
09-23-2015, 10:04 PM
Gorgeous bike. Love that these guys actually think things through and actually innovate.

doomridesout
09-23-2015, 10:29 PM
If it's well built, the design appears to be pretty smart... I'd get one if I wasn't happy with my gravel rig.

velotrack
09-23-2015, 10:49 PM
I don't understand the whole bit about not understanding setback seatposts. They are clearly there for a reason. The bike looks very cool though.

velotrack
09-23-2015, 10:54 PM
Also, looking at the price - no thanks, sorry. I'm sure this is the bike many were looking for though.

simonov
09-24-2015, 05:25 AM
I don't understand the whole bit about not understanding setback seatposts. They are clearly there for a reason. The bike looks very cool though.

Ditto. On both counts. The seatpost setback thing was the same with Gerard when at Cervelo. Other than that, this seems pretty cool.

dustyrider
09-24-2015, 06:49 AM

Later on just before the geo., they say the bike is designed with a set back seat tube, so no need for a set back seat post. "It's lighter this way!" yawn.

Dustin
09-24-2015, 08:59 AM
Is there a good way to convert a 386Evo BB to run mountain cranks? The press fit BB is the one real turnoff for me.