PDA

View Full Version : OT: Talk to me about forced hot water boilers

45K10
08-28-2015, 05:22 AM
We just had a home inspection on a house we have under contract and it turns out the boiler used to heat the house (forced hot water) is from 1961. I have no experience with this sort of heating system. I have only had forced hot air or a heat pump in the houses I have ever lived in.

So the boiler works, except for a faulty pressure gauge, it uses natural gas, has three heating zones. Other than the age of the boiler, the house is pretty solid.

I would like to replace the boiler sooner rather than later so just looking for some advice on any pitfalls associated with changing out the boiler, brands to consider, boiler type to consider, etc....

Thanks

Tandem Rider
08-28-2015, 06:05 AM
Congratulations! Hot water heat is the best! (I assume that forced = pumped rather than gravity circulation).

As far as the replacement, brands don't matter much. It is sizing and the quality of the installation that makes or breaks the system. Sort of like bike wheels, great parts+bad build=junk, ok parts+great build=great wheel. You beed to find the Ergott or OP for boilers in your area.

Ask around, other people in your neighborhood with HW heat will know who does good work and who to avoid. Pick a contractor that sells a boiler that is available locally from a reputable wholesale house. When it's years down the road and something fails in January, you need that part right away, not in 3 or 4 days.

Efficiency is not a good reason to replace a boiler in good shape. Do the math, use actual heating cost (not total bills for year, use cost of gas in heating months minus monthly charges, cost of cooking, cost of hw heater if you have one). For example, $1000 x 15% more efficient = $150 per year. If there is a sticker on the boiler from a service company, call them and ask about the boiler.