PDA

View Full Version : Maintenance on Campy External BBs

SlackMan
08-23-2015, 01:19 PM
I have lamented before about the ineptitude of my LBS, so realistically I have to my own wrenching. I have no experience with external BBs, but do have experience replacing / rebuilding cartridge type and loose bearing square taper BBs.

I am considering buying an Campy Ultra Torque crank to replace the crankset that came on a complete bike I bought. My questions are:

*How often is bearing maintenance necessary and how hard is it? I am down to one road bike so I use it for everything, including commuting and sometimes get caught in the rain.

*Would I need to buy the Park CBP3 puller / setter for the UT bearings?

*Would it be much easier overall to just buy a used Campy crank that takes a square taper BB?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

tuscanyswe
08-23-2015, 01:59 PM
Unless you ride in a lot of faul weather i don't expect you to replace the bearings more than every other year or so.

Maintenance really is just regreasing the cups as thats about all you can do.

In winter tho.. thats another story. Then i need new bearings after every winter season but thats swedish winter with riding 5 days a week in wet and snow for several hours.

You will need a bearing puller if you want to install new ones in a good manner and your suggestion seems like a good option tho I'm sure there are cheeper ones that work pretty good as well.

I think you get better milage on square taper bbs but i love campy ut. They are great and easy to work with imo.

ultraman6970
08-23-2015, 05:48 PM
The bearings are good, but it depends a lot of the riding you do and how brute you are to really ask for those bearings to be swapped... never changed mines but i dont ride under the rain, dont race and I do little mileage per year. My best guess is that if you race and train a lot, probably you will run over bearings each two years... the symptoms are really obvious... the cranks start having some play.