PDA

View Full Version : Yet another campy/shimano compatibility question

marciero
08-18-2015, 01:47 PM
Yes, I searched. It's probably there but could not find.

Which rear derailleur(s) would allow one to swap back and forth between Shimano 9-speed wheels and 11-speed wheels (either campy or shimano-I know interchangeable), using Campy 11 shifters, by simply adjusting the limit screw.

zoose
08-18-2015, 01:58 PM
I'm thinking the spacing on the cassettes will be different and so the shifters will not work with the 9 speed cassette no matter the derailleur. No first hand experience though so others might have seen it work.

distanc3
08-18-2015, 02:01 PM
The spacing is different between the 8/9/10 vs 11 speed. I could imagine a derailleur working for both systems if you swapped the shifters.

Maybe the OP got it mixed up with 9/10 speed swap with Campy/Shimano drivetrain?

CampyorBust
08-18-2015, 02:02 PM
I am no expert by any means, but I am going to go with none of them.

marciero
08-18-2015, 02:04 PM
Huh. Have heard that the Campy 11 shifters "work fine" with Shimano 9 using limit screw. The reality is that I will probably just be going with the Campy 11 on this bike

palincss
08-18-2015, 02:05 PM
Read this (http://www.cxmagazine.com/shimano-campagnolo-ergopower-compatibility).

marciero
08-18-2015, 02:47 PM
Read this (http://www.cxmagazine.com/shimano-campagnolo-ergopower-compatibility).

Was thinking that the pull of the 11 levers was offset by the distance the shimano derailleur moves in such a way as to match the 9 speed spacing. Article does not address specifics here, though it does address cable routing to affect pull ratio. Am also a little dubious of some of the combinations working vs working well

oldpotatoe
08-18-2015, 03:39 PM
Yes, I searched. It's probably there but could not find.