PDA

View Full Version : bar tape

flydhest
05-04-2006, 10:35 AM
anyone with experience with any of the gel bar tapes and/or with Specialized Bar Phat (or whatever)?

The Doctor every-so-often has joint issues, especially in the hands and was thinking about getting something extra forgiving for the stoker bars on the tandem.

Bill Bove
05-04-2006, 10:38 AM
Fizik Gel under Cinelli cork on one bike, carbon bars on the other. The carbon bars do more.

flydhest
05-04-2006, 10:51 AM
Dagnabbit, Bill, don't say such stuff!!!!! Don't you know that carbon bars are more expensive!!??!?!?!?!

Seriously, though, thanks. I hadn't thought about it. Might have to go there. The only down side is that, due to my fat @ss, she's got 46 c-c bars. Any carbon in that size?

Bradford
05-04-2006, 10:55 AM
I've been using Bar Phat for a couple of years now. I have the thick stuff on the Tandem and the thin stuff on the road bike. I started off with the tape that came with it, but I've gone through Cinelli and now Fizik tape on top as well.

I've been very happy with the Bar Phat and recommend it.

Go ahead and give it a try, it doesn't cost that much, so even if you don't like it, it is a low-risk experiment.

rpm
05-04-2006, 11:20 AM
I use the Bontrager gel tape and it's OK. And when I was at the Trek dealer, I picked up a pair of Buzz Kill bar ends, and those things definitely do work. Whatever you do, it's worth getting the buzzkills, too. I bought just the cheaper lighter aluminum ones. The heavier brass ones probably do even more.

Bud
05-04-2006, 11:31 AM
I've had the Bar Phat on my last two bikes and love it. It really helps for those long rides and eliminates a lot of hand/wrist fatigue. Give it a try.

Rapid Tourist
05-04-2006, 11:57 AM
I tried the Specialized bar phat but I didn't find that it did very much in the way of reducing vibration to the hands. Maybe I used the thin as opposed to the fat "bar phat."