PDA

View Full Version : Your favorite road helmet and why?

scottcw2
04-28-2006, 06:14 PM
Discuss.

Ray
04-28-2006, 06:25 PM
Bell Alchera or Furio. Because Bell's shape fits my head best and these are the cheapest helmets they sell with the molded in shell and the little wheelie thing in the back for adjusting the fit. Enough vents, looks like any other modern helmet. $50 range. I never saw the point of spending beau coup bucks on a helmet. As long as it fits, vents reasonably well, and protects my head when called upon, I'm good.

-Ray

palincss
04-28-2006, 06:50 PM
Giro Torrent. One size fits all, and it happens to fit me better than any other bicycle helmet I've ever owned -- and I've been using helmets for bicycling since 1972. It has a visor, it's got a decent place to mount a glued-on mirror, and it is cheap to boot. It's even adjustable enough that I can go from a balaclava to none with nothing more than the adjustment of that rachety plastic sizing thing inside the helmet. And, in terms of crash performance, it meets the same standards all the others do, even those that are more than five times the price. I got one last month on sale from Nashbar for twenty bucks. What's not to like?

:banana:

Ahneida Ride
04-28-2006, 07:20 PM
Bell Metro ...

1.) Rounded Helmet
2.) Offers superior protection
3.) 3 sizes + easy adjusting mechanism
4.) Removable visor that works
5.) Many options
6.) Single color throughout, not multicolored,
7.) Clip for light on back of helmet
8.) Comfortable

ergott
04-28-2006, 07:43 PM
http://www.cbike.com/images/atmos_white_silver.jpg

It fits and looks real good.

Grant McLean
04-28-2006, 07:44 PM
http://www.cbike.com/images/atmos_white_silver.jpg

It fits and looks real good.

you can be on my team!

g

scottie
04-28-2006, 07:49 PM