PDA

View Full Version : maltodextrin and creatine

RobertP
03-23-2004, 03:37 PM
I'm thinking of using raw Maltodextrin as a drink mix and creatine with soy protein for a post workout drink. Does anyone have any experience with these? I'm trying to save a buck with the Maltodextrin (it's about 80% cheaper than say, hammer gel), and I'm simply inexperienced with creatine.

dcotcamp
03-23-2004, 04:00 PM
I use maltodextrin for my on-bike drink mix (I add some flavoring, and some salt). As you say, it's -much- cheaper than the pre-made mixes.

I have no experience with creatine.

Dennis

Needs Help
03-23-2004, 04:34 PM
I'm simply inexperienced with creatine.

Well Marc McGwire is an example. I think I read he has health problems now. I also think Outside magazine did a story where the author, who I believe was a cyclist/triathelete, went the steroid route and documented his experience.

BumbleBeeDave
03-23-2004, 04:53 PM
. . . has nothing to do with steroids. It is not a hormone. It is instead one of the chemical components of the fuel creatine process for the muscles.

I took creatine while weightlifting seriously several years ago, loading at times and on maintenance at other times. It did indeed do what it promised, and is one of the very few supplements there is any sort of truly scientific for documenting its positive effects on strength.

Unfortunately, it also can create serious kidney problems if used in the long term. Creatine is converted into a chemical called creatinine in the muscles, but they can only use so much. The rest must be processed out by the kidneys and excreted as urine. Over time this can really mess up your kidneys. I stopped when my doctor filled me in on the long-term effects.

It’s just as well--it always upset my stomach with the runs and while it does increase lifting power about 6-10%, it does very little for endurance, which is what most cyclists really need.